NoBloPoMo, Stories...

Nemesis…?

Today I woke to a world I don’t recognize; it’s very strange indeed…

The alarm didn’t go off at all, though I’d been waking every 15 minutes or so for the hour preceding it’s planned performance, so I’m not running all that late as a result.  Even more fascinating to me, though, is the failure of my feline alarm clock counterpart, who tells time better than any clock I’ve ever met; for it is he who usually wakes me, precisely two minutes before the alarm, every single day.  Even on my days off, of course, when the alarm isn’t even set…  Except for a day or two after daylight savings time goes into or out of effect, which seems to throw him off, every time, though it happens twice a year…  But not today…

I woke to discover my roommate had also been up, but had already returned to bed…  Which made me wonder if, perhaps, I’d missed the entire day…?  It’s so dark when I get up now, it looks no different than when I go to sleep; and with the heavy cloud bank hanging precariously over my head, I cannot even judge by the presence or placement of the moon.  Could I have skipped a day, somehow?

It could happen, you know…  I’ve done it before, but never intentionally, and not in a long, long time…  But that’s the kicker there, isn’t it?  For Time has always been my nemesis…  Is he messing with my mind again?  I wonder…

Add to that the fact that the cat didn’t even eat, and…  Well, clearly something strange is happening today, whatever day it is…

I received a challenge yesterday (or at least the last day I remember); two, in fact.  The first was to try and write a villian, as wicked as I can; the other was to write, and publish, something every single day, for thirty days ahead.  Could these two things be related?

I find it difficult to walk away from any challenge.  Sigh… Another character flaw, perhaps.  It’s not about my Ego (I hope), so much as the fun.  I always did well at puzzles and tests; I always did best when pressed.  Last Minute Lady, that’s true,  but somehow I always managed to come through.  And here’s an opportunity to do both, though it’s challenging in more ways than one…

Could I write a story in pieces and parts, without having any idea where it might lead?  Worse yet, cries my Ego, could I share it incomplete?  And could I center that story around a villian I haven’t yet met, a more “worthy” opponent than I’ve previously known?  Do I feel “safe” enough here to invoke such a foe?

Something to consider, I suppose…

Especially if I’m not even home…

But somewhere else, some place unknown, where Time is a prankster and my companion (my cat) isn’t home…

Something to think about, I suppose…

Standard

Leave a Reply

