Nemesis, NoBloPoMo, Stories...

Nemesis… Chapter 2 (Day 2)

Warm hands caress me, tracing rivers of desire across my naked flesh.  I moan softly in response, recognizing that touch, made ever more compelling by its absence for so long…

“You’re here,” I whisper, disbelief making me cold in the heat that envelops me…

But instead of words, he uses touch to captivate and arouse, moist lips joining that electric sizzle to elicit a trembling response from me.  He nuzzles in close, forcing my chin aside to gain access to the tender places at the base of my throat.  His breath tickles my skin, causing me to shiver in delight…

I reach up to run my fingers through that dark, silken hair, sliding instinctively, without thought, down his back.  My body rejoices at the feel of his weight shifting upon me, as soft kisses become playful nips.  My palms revel in the feeling of soft fur under them…

“Mmmm, ” I groan…

“Wait!  What?…  Why do you have fur?!” I ask, startled.  He begins to purr softly…

My eyes fly open to see…

Eyes of deep green staring back at me…

“Mreoow,” he says.

“Oh, good, you’re awake,” I hear.  “I’m hungry.”

I cannot help but laugh aloud as my beautiful “soulmate” awakens me once again…  I glance at the clock beside me – 6:58 – precisely 2 minutes before my alarm should go off, if daylight savings time were still in effect.  But it’s not.

“Oh, Shilo, my love,” I explain gently to him. “It’s too early.  I have another hour before I have to get up!  And I was having such a wonderful dream…”

“But I’m hungry now,” he insists with a nip on my nose, as my eyes drift slowly closed.  I sigh…

“Why is it everyone else gets an extra hour to sleep in on this Sunday, except me?”

But it’s not really a surprise; it happens every time.  As amazing as he is, my cat just can’t grasp the concept of daylight savings time.  So I gather my energy and try to sit up; anything to avoid those sharp teeth…  And a flurry of activity outside my window catches my eye, as a murder of crows settles into the tree on the other side…

“Caw!”

“Caw…caw!”

“Caw!”

“Caw… caw!”

One becomes two, becomes one, becomes two.  They have my attention now…  For crows are the Keepers of Divine Law, and they sit in judgment over all who practice the mystical arts…

“Caw…caw…caw…caw!”

“And four is made manifest in the world beyond…” I find myself saying aloud.  Turning toward the window, I cannot help but ask, “just what are you warning me about?”

“Caw!”

“Caw…caw!”

And suddenly I remember the disaster from last night…  I see myself sitting there, surrounded by the shattered remnants of my magickal mirror, and I tremble; this time in fear.

I groan again, totally without pleasure…  “I guess I deserve whatever I get,” I admit to the crows, and to those they represent.  “I know better,” I admit.  Combining the efforts of an eager, but inexperienced cat with a rusty, but arrogant witch, in a Pentagram Circle no less (!), is bound to create some chaos.  I know in my heart that I will pay for this!

***     *****     ***

I stumble downstairs to put coffee on, dreading what I might discover.  For anything could have snuck in last night, with the energies running amok.

The coffee is brewing, so I go to check out my ritual room.  I peek in, at first, unwilling to cross that threshold until I know it is safe.

“Not too bad,” I nod smugly, congratulating myself.  For though I can feel some residual imbalance, it is much less than I had anticipated.  “Perhaps this will turn out all right, after all.”

I go get my coat to step out for a smoke, keeping to my morning routine.  Shilo, of course, follows me.  As soon as I step on the worn wooden planks, the crows in the tree erupt…

“Caw…caw…caw”

“Caw, caw-caw, caw-caw, caw, caw, caw…”

All of them seem to be speaking at once, so that I can no longer identify a single voice among them.  I am loathe to admit how it feels, even to myself, for it chills me to the bone.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen the crows so angry at me… And Shilo, too, I suppose, for he played his part as well.  Still, it was ultimately my responsibility, I know, and my cat was only doing what he’s been trained to do.  Any magick that bounces back toward us will definitely be seeking me!…

“I wonder if this is why witches of old always practised outside,” I say aloud, then laugh at myself.  “Well, you’d be much less likely to break anything that way, I suppose.”

Suddenly, three crows detach themselves from the murder in the tree, flying to the fence where they light, one after another, and turn to stare at me…

“Oh no… the Morrigan,” I whisper, both awed and terrified, for She always reveals Herself by threes.  “Three ravens or three crows, coming to call, is a visit from the most powerful witch of all…,” I recite, without thinking.

I step forward to face Her, not sure what to expect, but I am distracted by stepping in, or on, something soft.  It is enough of a lump to throw off my gait, sending pain sharply through my hip.  I suck in a deep breath, and look down to see…

A dead mouse lying under my feet.

“What is this,” I ask aloud, “how did it get here?”  For I know, absolutely, that it wasn’t here last night when I came out to smoke before going to bed.  I look at my cat, cowering (?) on the rail, and am distracted temporarily by his posture.  It’s not like him to be afraid; and it is then it occurs to me that he hasn’t moved once since we came out…

 Usually, he runs out into the yard as far as the sidewalk, sits staring up and down the street while he checks out his territory.  Then a run and jump onto the tree to sharpen those claws he likes to use to prod me.  A casual stroll through the bushes to relieve himself, and he is back on the porch by the time I am done, ready to go in and eat.

But not today.  Today he jumped onto the railing, and he sits staunchly by my side, my protector first and always.  His ears are half laid back, as if unsure how great the danger is.  His tail moves methodically to and fro; not the quick tic-tic-tic of anger, nor the rapid swishing of stalking.  He is simply alert, almost painfully so, and ready to respond to…well, to whatever might occur.  His behavior makes me more nervous than the crows…

Suddenly I remember the presence of the Morrigan, and glance back up to face Her.  But She is gone now; the three representing Her blended back in to the crowd that surrounds us…  My thoughts are drawn back to the dead mouse at my feet.  And again I wonder how it got there…?  I know the cat was with me last night; after all, he woke me up from that magnificent dream.  So who, or what, else is leaving such “presents” for me?

***     *****     ***

After my morning meditation, I sit reflecting on this morning’s experiences.  My coffee is hot and sweet, invigorating me, and my mind is clear now.  Perhaps I can make better sense of it all…

“The crows clearly came to reprimand me, right?,” I ask myself.  “I mean they were clearly upset!  And there were so many of them today…  Or did they come to warn me instead?”

And, though my mind tries to shy away from the behavior of those three particular crows, I find it drawn inevitably there.  The Morrigan is a powerful archetype, and not one to be ignored, for She represents Death most commonly.  More often than not, the Morrigan appears to those about to die on the battlefield, but clearly I am not planning to run off to war anytime soon (as if I could run anywhere these days, even to run away).  In lesser cases, the Morrigan reveals a period of strife ahead; difficulty, challenges, loss and regret.  And rarely, so rarely, She appears to those She chooses as Her champions in this world, an honor unmatched to those who practice the Craft of magick…

“So what role was She playing today?,” I ask myself.  And, though I want to believe it was the last, I fear the others are far more likely…

“And then there was the mouse,” I remind myself.  “That had to mean something as well.”  Surely that must be a warning of some kind, directed specifically at me.  “But what kind of warning?,” I ask aloud…

It is a strange one, to be sure, since Mouse usually shows up to remind us to pay attention to details around us.  And since this one was dead…?  “No, it doesn’t help,” I tell myself, “this one I just don’t get.”

“Oh well,” I sigh, “I can’t devote any more time to this right now.  I have to get to work.”  But first I must choose my card for the day, a message from my soul to me, giving me a lesson to focus on, or some unexpected clarity…  “Who knows?,” I think to myself, “maybe it will really help today…”

But before I can choose that card of the day, Shilo climbs up from my lap.  He likes to do that from time to time, crawling up to lay across my chest, heart to heart, resting his cheek against mine, and purring for all he is worth.  I always try to make time for him when he’s in a cuddling mood, because he means so very much to me, and quite probably, because I am addicted to that purr.  Our love for each other is real, even if unconventional, so I would not want to reject him.  Besides, I know he still feels bad about last night, and I really want to comfort him; which translates, more honestly into, “I want him to comfort me.”  After all, we clearly didn’t break that mirror intentionally…

“Shit!  I’m running late now!,” I tell him, when he shows no signs of moving on anytime soon.  “I’ve got to go, baby.  Really!”

Grabbing my cards on the fly, not even bothering to shuffle, I grab the first one that slides out of the deck…

“Courage,” it says. “I find the inner strength to face fear with confidence.” **

I can’t even respond, as I slide it back into the deck…

***     *****     ***

( ** From “The Soul’s Journey Lesson Cards” by James Van Praag, Hay House Inc, 2014.  Quotation is on the card itself as well as in the accompanying Guide Book, pg. 26.)

***     *****     ***

(to be continued)

Standard

6 thoughts on “Nemesis… Chapter 2 (Day 2)

Leave a Reply

