NoBloPoMo, Poetry, self-discovery

“If I Had a Chance…” (Day 10)

“If I Had a Chance…”

Lisa R. Palmer

(9-12-95)

If I had a chance…  to say just what I feel today…

     would I speak of love

     or anger?

          Or joy & pain?

           Or fear & shame?

If I had a chance…  to do exactly what I wanted to…

     would I celebrate

     or cry?

          Or stand & fight?

          Or run & hide?

If I had a chance…  to be whomever I chose to be…

     would I be me

     or someone else?

          Or would I be at all?

I think I want to feel it All…

     to do it All…

          and be all I can be…

So, given who I am today,

     I’d have to stay with me –

          a Woman.

For she is all of this and more

given only half a chance to be!

Standard

5 thoughts on ““If I Had a Chance…” (Day 10)

Leave a Reply

