Reflections

I had a dream…

I had a dream today, odd and personal; one I thought I might keep to myself…  And then I checked my email, where magick of a unique expression occurs.  For it is through that magic, digital portal that so much “truth” arrives (as well as lies, of course…).

Email notifications so frequently make my day, whether they be new postings from some of my favorite bloggers, or news of someone new who crossed my path, leaving breadcrumbs for me to follow back to their home.  That’s how I’ve found so many wonderful writers here at WordPress…

And today was no exception, as I followed up on recent notifications.  And so I was inspired to share my dream, in spite of how vulnerable it makes me feel, because sharing my “self” was why I started this thing in the first place…

So…  I had this dream today…

In the dream I was placing a cardboard box inside a living tree, creating a comfortable nest for some woodland creature to nurture its young.  I was creating a “safe” place for new life to begin.  And as I worked, arranging everything just so, I heard myself speaking words I’d never even thought before…

“And so it was that remnants of the Sacred Tree,

once cut down so maliciously

came to protect unknowingly

this innocent life

unwitting…”

And I knew, suddenly, that I had been there, after the Sacred Tree had been cut down, grieving deeply for what I could not have prevented had I been there before…

And I knew that it was my role, working where I do, to come upon this particular cardboard box and claim it for this purpose, without knowing its origin, history or destiny…

As it was my role to build this nest to nurture living beings, and to rediscover and acknowledge the sacred nature of the Tree, even in this form….

For this particular tree, once held sacred above all others, rejoiced in its duty to protect Life, regardless of its form.  And I knew there were many pieces of it “out there” living this ancient task…

Diminished in stature, but vastly expanded to “cover more ground,” the Tree lives on, unrecognized by most who choose to use it.  But the Tree itself feels no regret about its new form or purpose…

And while I grieve still for the loss of the Tree, I feel blessed to rediscover an old friend who has joyfully embraced a transformed existence…

And it occurred to me as I woke, that no matter how All-encompassing my dreams sometimes are, unconfined by Time or Space, or Rationality, or even Sense in any reasonable sense, they cannot begin to comprehend the totality of “what is.”  Countless connections, everywhere; the sheer magnitude and minutiae of which my mind cannot grasp, but my spirit intuitively trusts…

Synchronicity strikes again…

Standard

15 thoughts on “I had a dream…

    • I was, indeed, tentative about sharing it, Peter. Sincere thanks to you, and all, who read this piece and commented gently, sharing the magic of that moment with me. Peace, friend… 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

