Reflections

Endless…

I read a post from a fellow blogger on depression and it reminded me of much I have “forgotten”.  Or not, perhaps…

Because part of what I remember the most is the absolute “endlessness” of the mind-numbing pain of existence, and how I would have done just about anything to escape it, so long as I didn’t actually have to DO anything.  Because depression is debilitating, sapping one’s strength and will, and leaving only endless hours of monotony, where even pain is welcome for the relief it brings…

And I realized, as I read, and re-read that post, that maybe I’m not so far removed from it after all.  Because I still experience the endlessness of pointless pain, looking ahead into a monotonous future, where nothing truly changes but my momentary perspective:

When the big picture is too overwhelming to contemplate, think small and focus on details.  When the details are too overwhelming to deal with, think big and focus on the goal.

This has become one of my primary coping tools…

And it occurred to me that I am truly blessed, for I have a vivid imagination, and perhaps a “mis-wiring” of synaptic functions in my brain, that allow me to truly experience moments that are not actually “occurring” to me here and now.  I am not limited by Time or Space, whether sleeping or awake, and so “escape” from the monotony of existence is not only possible for me, but a treasured expectation in my daily living…

So kudos to all of us with that creative spark that allows us to so easily shift perspective, and interpret events in new and possibly hopeful ways!  We are, in our own ways, each of us, Light Bringers.  And we are unique and essential in a time of consuming Darkness…

So please, my blessed friends and fellow bloggers, continue to share whatever captivates you, intrigues you, or simply lives in your heart in those quiet moments when you interact solely with your recording device of choice.  We may not be the only hope in a world struggling to survive, but we are definitely one hope!

And if we fail to inspire the “world at large,” we nonetheless inspire each other to carry on.  And that, my friends, is no “small” thing!

I have more to say on this topic, but work calls, and the endless routine of now demands my return.  Until another time, then…

To be continued…

Endlessly, I hope!

Standard

8 thoughts on “Endless…

  1. Thank you for this perspective. You touched on things that I had buried lately with all the hustle and bustle. This line really stood out for me: “I am not limited by Time or Space, whether sleeping or awake, and so “escape” from the monotony of existence is not only possible for me, but a treasured expectation in my daily living…” I wish you a great day and I look forward to your next post. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

