Poetry, Reflections

“Going through the motions…”

Going through the motions…

Waiting…

Waiting…

Everything seems the same,

but not somehow.

I hear the messages.

I pass them on.

I resume my routine

with hardly a pause.

Going through the motions…

Waiting…

Waiting…

“But what are you feeling?,”

a dear friend asks.

“Nothing…,” I reply.

“And everything, too.”

“But if I had to choose a single word,

that word would be ‘unmoored’.”

I’m just going through the motions…

Waiting…

Waiting…

Ungrounded, out of touch,

out of synch…  but not.

I see clearly, but sense something…

Unseen.

I hear clearly, but sense something…

Unheard.

I speak loudly…

Lost words dissipating in the morning air

like warm breath,

or cold death.

I feel alone, but I know that I am not.

For all around me are others…

Just going through the motions…

Waiting…

Waiting…

Adrift at sea, the gentle rocking

soothing…

mocking…

but without apparent cause.

Eyes drawn toward the far off horizon.

Ears alive with birdsong.

(out here?!)

Time-less and serene;

a heavy, pregnant pause.

Just going through the motions…

Waiting…

Waiting…

Waiting ever-more.

 

 

 

Standard

9 thoughts on ““Going through the motions…”

    • Alasdair!! So good to see you here! I have been thinking of you, but life has prevented me from following through…

      You know, considering that I am beset with the notion of endless waiting, you would expect that I would have more “time” to engage in more enjoyable activities, but it doesn’t seem to work out that way…

      Curiouser and curiouser my life gets… 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

