Reflections

Doomed to Breathe…

Sitting here today, exhausted!  Physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually.  As if I have only just completed a long and arduous trek across the desert, or climbed a particularly daunting peak…

But I have succeeded…

And now I breathe a little easier, knowing the most difficult tasks are behind me, and the “rewards” have yet to be revealed…

But at what cost comes this peace?

For every breath I inhale brings comfort… and a sense of impending doom.  Waiting for all the other shoes to drop before I truly understand what’s what…

So I find myself holding that breath; revelling in this moment only.  Refusing to acknowledge what all must be let go with each exhale.  For so long as that loss remains undefined and unidentified, I need not grieve today…

All that I was waits expectantly, certain that Death will come…

All I will become waits eagerly, certain its Time has arrived…

All that I am waits eternally: unchanging, unmoving, uncertain; a single breath stretching out unnaturally…

The pressure builds.  The lungs ache.  The heart races…

My eyes close, choosing not to see the inevitable approaching me…

For I am human. Still…

And, knowing that, Choice becomes a fickle and false friend…

For I am doomed to breathe…

Eventually.

And what once was shall never be again…

Standard

2 thoughts on “Doomed to Breathe…

  1. Hi Lisa
    Powerful, caused me to put this down ‘on paper’
    Thinking comes with a price…
    And one step in deeper and we are simply living things, and the urge to live continues.
    I am taught by the seeds I planted last week, they are growing because they want to. In their example I take comfort.

    (Y’see Good art always causes a reaction)
    Take care
    Roger

    Liked by 1 person

    • “Thinking comes with a price…
      And one step in deeper and we are simply living things,…”

      Speaking of “deep”…! lol!
      Impressive and uplifting… And now you have me thinking again… 😉

      I agree. “Good art” does create a reaction. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

