Poetry, Reflections

“Sifting Through the Ashes…”

20160618_230355

Photo taken by me 6-18-16

Sifting through the ashes

of my burned out heart…

Wondering…

Always wondering…

If it’s true that Fire is the great purifier?

***

Sifting through the ashes

of my burned out heart…

Considering…

Always considering…

What might come to fill the empty space where my love once abided?

***

Sifting through the ashes

of my burned out heart…

Contemplating…

Always contemplating…

What pushed me over the edge this time, encouraging me to consume myself?

***

Was it anger that lit this fire;

a rage against injustice?

Or was it passion that sparked this flame;

an overwhelming desire?

Perhaps it was faith that ignited this inferno;

a conviction so strong there was no room for doubt?

***

Sifting through the ashes

of my burned out heart…

Noticing…

Yes, noticing…

That something small and green is rising from the debris…

***

Sifting through the ashes

of my burned out heart…

Remembering…

Yes, remembering…

That Gaia Herself has a molten, burning core…

***

Sifting through the ashes

of my burned out heart…

Hoping…

Yes, hoping…

That this is a sign of better things to come…

***

Is it possible that my heart-space might be filled with green and growing things?

A place of sanctuary for all living beings?

A secret, sacred garden that honors life above all else?

***

For the Mother does not judge,

and neither, then, should I…

Embracing All…

Rejecting none…

That Love might rise again…

 

 

Standard

9 thoughts on ““Sifting Through the Ashes…”

Leave a Reply

