Reflections

“Anchoring the Light…”

It’s a phrase I’ve heard bandied about for a couple years now, though I have to admit in honesty, that I never quite understood what it meant.  Until now, that is…

I mean, the words are simple enough, aren’t they?  And the concept, in context, makes sense in a logical, rational fashion.  It even generates a picture for me:

Countless ribbons hanging from the sky in a rainbow spectrum of colors.  Caught in a gentle breeze, they flutter pleasantly, like so many butterfly wings floating in the sky.  I reach for one close to me, but it’s just a little too high, dancing playfully out of range as my hand nears it.  I stand on tip toes; not quite enough.  Finally I jump, and triumphantly claim my chosen ribbon…

Gently I pull it down to earth and anchor it beneath my feet.  And, doing so, I feel success flush me.  My heart warms, so does my body.  My spirit feels light and full of joy.  And all is well with my world…

But how does any of that translate into human relationships or experience?  That is the piece I have been missing.  Until now, that is…

Now I understand a little of what’s involved in “anchoring the Light.”

It’s about retaining Hope in the most hopeless of times, when logic insists there is no cause to hold hope…

It’s about remaining Still when chaos reigns all around you…

It’s about being Silent, when everything within you is screaming to be heard…

It’s about not Re-acting when fear descends, prompting that fight or flight response within…

It’s about walking steadfastly upon your path, no matter how many others attempt to change your course…

It’s about focusing on Love, and love alone, when anger, hate and hurt threaten to drown it out…

And ultimately, it’s about living in the solution now, while most around you are still trying to define the problem.

***

It isn’t easy to do, as it turns out, no matter how simple it sounds.  But I learned long ago that “easy” and “simple” are not synonymous terms…

It requires Discipline and Dedication. This might read “natural stubbornness” if you’re a redhead like me.  But it translates to a strength of will that never wavers, no matter how viscious the storms assaulting it…

It requires Faith.  Not in some outside Source, so much, as in your Self, though whatever path brought you to this place will likely help you through.  You choose what works for you…

It requires Clarity, lest you be led astray by the activity all around you, demanding your attention and intervention.  You must know how to blind yourself without losing sight of your goal…

And it requires an insanely high Tolerance for Pain.  There is no drug that will make you feel better now; there is no medical fix.  You must know how to live with pain and suffering, and carry on in spite of it…

“Why?,” you ask. “Why do all this?”

But “why” has become irrelevant.  You do what you do because it needs to be done.  You serve in the way you are most capable of.  That has to be reason enough…

***

Today I am crying.  Again.  Like every other day of late…

But today, some of those tears are tears of joy, and not all are born of sorrow.

Could this be the Change I have been looking, and working, for?

I have to believe it is.  For that is Me “anchoring the Light” today…

 

Standard

14 thoughts on ““Anchoring the Light…”

  1. This is an intensely personal space you are in, Lisa. All I want to say to you is that I began that path you’re on in 1979 and in retrospect, despite all the physical/material/relationship losses, it has been the most fascinating, rewarding, life-changing unending event imaginable. Would I go back, return to the normal as offered by society? Never. The losses are nothing in comparison to the personal gains in awareness, vision, understanding through self-empowerment. After the first event, I wanted to die to avoid the discomfort and uncertainty, but time is our friend here, allowing us to put it together, look forward, look back, take stock of the changes.

    “You do what you do because it needs to be done. You serve in the way you are most capable of. That has to be reason enough…” Yes. The entire message is uplifting and validating to anyone else contemplating this “anchoring of the light” – of their own light.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Thank you for anchoring the Light and for sharing your authentic self so beautifully, Lisa. Oh, how high that tolerance for pain has to be for so many of us! But I don’t think that is necessarily a bad thing, as long as we learn to let go of suffering.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

