Essay, Reflections

Follow-up to “Wake Up, America!…”

Or alternatively: a response to Roger (Woebegone but Hopeful), my friend in social anarchy…

I absolutely LOVE that phrase, “your friend in social anarchy”!  Having just read your latest rant, I know that it’s true, as well, which only makes the phrase richer and more tasty to me… lol!

I admitted to being reluctant to publish “Wake Up, America!”, though I didn’t discuss the reasons why.  And I’m glad I waited until a calmer heart could prevail before attempting to do so today.  It has proven to be an interesting experience so far…

To begin with, it is by far my least popular post ever!  Seen by at least 26 people (according to WordPress), which is a lot for my site, it only received 3 (now 4) “likes.”  And while it is quite possible that many (or most) of those “viewers” did not read the whole thing, it is still an all time low for me.  It didn’t even generate the casual likes that many use to acknowledge they read a piece, rather than the genuine “approval” such likes should reference.

I am not complaining.  But I am curious…

I realize the post is antithetical to my usual writings, in both tone and content.  Usually I write to inspire, explain, or explore topics of a peaceful, spiritual nature.  This was clearly not that.  This was a post full of impotent rage, railing helplessly against a system I can neither control nor change.  This was my shadow leeching out to claim the limelight.  This was an example of the very rhetoric it criticized, full of fiery, passionate complaints without solution; a hypocritical rant without true value…

Or was it?

You suggested, dear Roger, I could “write a letter” as a form of social activism, fulfilling that need to act.  This was that letter…

Allow me to explain…

I live in a country that prides itself on the rights and freedoms possessed by its citizens.  Those freedoms are so much a part of our national rhetoric and consciousness that we cite them at every opportunity, claim them as justification for every social, political and military action.  And yet we, as citizens, have not been in possession of those rights and freedoms for many decades.

Take our “freedom of speech,” for example.  Or our right to “free and peaceful assembly.”  Consider our “right” to vote in a free and democratic election.  None of these rights or freedoms truly exist anymore, having been systematically  stripped from us by those elitists who truly govern, not only my country, but yours as well.  And all other countries in existence today.  We remain “free” only in our hopes and dreams.  And memories…

I don’t know if I ever participated in an “unrigged” election, but those running the election show (for entertainment purposes only) have become increasingly transparent and obvious about it.  I don’t know that I ever actually had the right to speak my mind without fear of government retaliation, but I know for certain that I do not now, not since the “Patriot Act” was passed, justifying government surveillance of private citizens without cause, based upon fabricated fears of terrorism and national security issues…

And while I remain blissfully ignorant of how far advanced our internet control apparati are, I understand that everything posted is out there, permanently, and monitored by those who do not have my best interests in mind.  Whether they are searching for key words that might qualify me for some watchlist, or merely looking for more effective ways to sell something to me, I know that most of what I actually see on the internet was purposely highlighted just for me, based on whatever I have openly and willingly shared…

*** skipping down a side path temporarily…***  I actually had a dream, long before the internet was a “thing,” warning me that the “end of everything” I knew would come through the machinations of this world wide web, and its ability to manipulate and direct the masses.  And so I avoided joining the internet revolution until long after it became popular.  Giving in felt like a betrayal of my own wisdom.  And only now am I beginning to see the truth of it all…

People today are fired, or not hired, based upon their social media posts.  News feeds are filtered to only provide access to articles you might already agree with.  Individuals “steal” organizational identities online, posting views contrary to an organization’s stated ideologies, in order to mislead “honest” believers into adopting actions and viewpoints inconsistent with their true values.  Satirical sites post “news” stories that mock the mainstream press, but are then presented as actual “truth” by those who do not recognize the jokes.  Photos and videos are altered to create the illusion of evidence…

It is virtually impossible (pun intended) for the average, consumer driven internet user to sift through the mountains of false and/or misleading information to find anything resembling “truth” on the internet these days.  It may be out there, but I don’t have the time or inclination to seek it out; I have a job that hijacks most of my attention, and a lack of technical expertise that creates more frustration than satisfaction whenever I attempt to dive in.  Could I learn more about how it works, and how to work it?  Probably.  But why bother?  Truth has long been a lost cause…  Today there is only opinion, and I have plenty of my own without needing to seek out a plethora of others.

So I published “Wake Up…” knowing it contained key words (purposely) that might catch the ever scanning evil eye of my overseers.  And I spoke my mind, though the thoughts had long been hidden from public view.  Why?  Because some will assume that I am inciting violence, encouraging people to act out against our oppressors rather than against each other.  Some might go so far as to say there is a hint of the revolutionary in my ranting.  So let me be clear…

I am nonviolent to a fault, meaning I will not personally engage in violent actions, even to defend myself.  I am, however, aware that I am in the minority as far as that’s concerned.  So, knowing that, I am not inciting people to become violent, but rather attempting to redirect such violence toward more deserving (in my opinion) targets.  If people are driven to act out, why not act out against those who have “caused” the conditions leading to their violent outburst?  Why take their frustration out on me or mine, or any of those around me just trying to get along?!

So…  While I will not buy a gun, or use the internet to construct a bomb, to protest an unjust system, I will nonetheless exercise my “right” (read civic duty) to encourage those who will to do so more responsibly, and more productively.  Just think how much more interesting this election show might have been (become) if those angry protestors simply erased the criminal candidates from the race…  Or imagine how those corporate execs and politicians might react if those militiarized security forces in North Dakota turned around, and pointed their weapons in a different direction…  And those rich people not paying taxes, but complaining about all those social programs their non-taxes support?  Would they take comfort in knowing their actual possessions were being used productively by those who stole them, either by feeding the thieves and their families, or by supporting the drug addictions our unequal system of wealth and big pharma demands?

Thus my post “Wake Up, America!” was my act of social and political protest.  And if the conspiracy folks are correct, then I have now officially and publicly declared myself a revolutionary.  But only time will tell how true any of it is…

And it doesn’t really matter to me anymore because I retain the “freedom” to be whatever I choose to be today.  So I “choose” to no longer be a person enslaved dreaming of being a tree, but a tree dreaming of being a person enslaved.  And the world I’m dreaming of is every bit as irrational as every dream I ever had while living as that person.  And the people surrounding me there are every bit as “crazy” as I ever dreamed of being, living in their own delusional worlds constructed of fears and needs…

And all of it is unfolding now, exactly as it needs to.  For being friends in social anarchy is exactly what I think we need to be today!

But maybe that’s just Me…

 

Standard

14 thoughts on “Follow-up to “Wake Up, America!…”

  1. I was going to just “like” this post and let it go as a reply to Roger, but it is much more than that. It is a “revolutionary” statement, worthy of a true American if there is such a person. That does make you the enemy of your enemies, those who have highjacked your government for their own nefarious ends, something they desperately want to hide from “the people” because their hold on power is tenuous and only by pushing you into violence can they justify more repression to shut you up, and down. It’s their game, it’s the only game they know and they’ve been playing it for thousands of years. And it has always worked.

    Can I tell you what is the most revolutionary act; the most dangerous, most damaging to the power structure, that an individual can conceive and put in motion? Compassion. Not faith, not hope, not love – those were co-opted by the System long, long ago. But they cannot co-opt compassion because it is not a reciprocal type of energy. It is totally alien to their understanding (and sadly, to the vast majority of the sheeple who seek redress for their woes from the very people who deliberately cause those woes) as it has no roots in any collective. That’s the key. All collectives, from the twinning of two lovers to an empire belong to the Status Quo. But they cannot own, much less control, the self empowered singularity that expresses as compassion. {short definition of singularity: a point at which a function takes an infinite value, especially in space-time when matter is infinitely dense, as at the center of a black hole.}

    They fear that more than anything, and they’ll say anything to ensure no one ever “gets it” that it is an incorruptible and unstoppable type of power. They will spread the propaganda that it has no System-changing value; that it is powerless against the mass forces of the Status Quo. Of course they can see what would happen to their house of cards of power if compassion spread: it would be the deadliest virus they’d ever been faced with, and nothing could counteract it except the most horrible of violence, a process that would reveal their true nature even more and they would still fail. No propaganda works against compassion and compassion re-awakens the sense of empathy which then makes “the System” implode on itself because the empath cannot, by nature, contemplate or do violence to anyone or anything. Take good care o’ you, brave American hero.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Heartafire says:

    I find the encouragement of anarchy irresponsible. Peaceful protest is legal and encouraged. Freedom of speech has not been taken from us, look and listen to Mr Trump. It may depend on your origin, I’m pretty sure if Pres. Obama spoke the hateful rhetoric spewed byTrump, he would be impeached and stripped of office. “fabricated fears of terrorism and national security issues”…are you saying we have no terrorism or security issues? http://www.nbcnews.com/news/us-news/russians-hacked-two-u-s-voter-databases-say-officials-n639551.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I respect your opinion on this, Heartafire. And perhaps you are right that encouraging anarchy is irresponsible, but I disagree. At this point in time, supporting the status quo seems more irresponsible to me. But to each their own. Hence my claim to labelling myself a “revolutionary.”

      Using Trump’s rhetoric as an example of our freedom of speech seems misguided to me, as he is clearly not one of “us,” the average American citizen. He is one of “them,” the elitists I mentioned, operating with immunity in this country, and not subject to the same laws that govern the rest of us…

      As for terrorism… Yes, I believe it is real. But I do not believe it is an outside force threatening our American borders or way of life; rather I believe it to be an insider action perpetuated by those already in power, designed to keep us little guys in line, frightened, and divided against one another, rather than united against those who oppress us…

      And I was specifically referring to the events of 9-11, that were used to push through the Patriot Act, but were later shown to be masterminded by our own government and their allies…

      And for the record, peaceful protest may be legal still, but it is clearly ineffective, especially when private corporations are backed by a state willing to take up arms against those unarmed, peaceful protestors. Without consequence, no less…

      Like

Leave a Reply

