Reflections

Flights of Fancy…

Dreams…  Fantasies…  Illusions…  Visions…

Hallucinations…

So many variations on a theme, yet a consistent one nonetheless.  For all name experiences we have alone, that we cannot share with Others except through words, art, music… Communication of some sort.

I was at work last night, and there was a quiet moment when I could actually hear the “retail-acceptable” radio station playing in the background.  For some reason, I tuned it in and actually listened for a change, and what I heard was this: “the brain can’t tell the difference between reality and imagination, so it responds to all stimuli as though it were actually happening.”  (The DJ was discussing why creative visualization works, apparently.)  It was an interesting point, and one that tagged into several different exploratory thought trips I’ve been taking lately…

Like how is it possible to know something (with certainty) your entire life, only to discover you’ve actually been wrong?  And how does that change things for you, when it’s so much a part of your “foundational” knowledge?

Or how do you distinguish between hallucinations and reality?  Especially if you’ve developed a tendency (strong and growing stronger) to experience things out of order in time?

Or, for that matter, how do you know whether such “out of time” phenomena are memory, visionary or illusory?

Or how can you use that power of imagination, and the brain’s inability to distinguish mere thought from reality, to create actual change in the physical universe?

(Yes, I actually do spend quite a bit of time thinking of these kinds of things…  🙂  )

I watched a tv show recently that dealt with these themes.  (I won’t mention the name to avoid any spoilers.)  The characters were at a workshop, and the teacher was trying to convince them they could change anything in the world with the power of their mind and will.  The students stared at a white wall, while the speaker encouraged them to change its color to whatever they wanted it to be.  With joyous enthusiasm, they shouted out their colors, revelling in this newfound power of mind, while the camera shifted between their rapturous faces and the still-white wall.  One “doubter” among them never saw anything “for real” except that white wall, and he was disturbed enough by that to question his entire faith…

Which kind of brings me to my point in a roundabout sort of way…

A recent discussion with a friend and fellow seeker led me back to the theory vs. practice dichotomy that has haunted my entire life.  For I believe in the power of mind to alter reality; I have experienced it first-hand.  Being schizophrenic allowed me to live this dichotomy in a very personal way, every day, as I traversed the bridge between things of my world, and things of the world.  And as a writer, I know that all things creative – words, art, music, dance – do actually change the world I live in, both in my own personal reality, and in the reality I share with Others.

But when someone succeeds in creating a miracle, it “feels” different.  It is the difference between altering how one perceives the world, and actually altering what there is to perceive in the world.  And the two are not the same…

So today I ponder those differences, and look for ways to make One into an’Other, and vice versa.  I seek a deeper understanding of a dichotomy that cannot truly exist, except in my mind.  For creation is creation, and change is change, and there should be no great leap required (of faith or logic) to span the distance between theory and practice.  And if there were ever a time when actual miracles were needed, I think this time certainly qualifies…

** stretching my wings **

Yep…  I think it’s time for me to fly…

Standard

2 thoughts on “Flights of Fancy…

Leave a Reply

